Wellcome to National Portal
বাংলাদেশ টেলিকমিউনিকেশনস কোম্পানি লিমিটেড গণপ্রজাতন্ত্রী বাংলাদেশ সরকার
Text size A A A
Color C C C C

সর্ব-শেষ হাল-নাগাদ: ২nd এপ্রিল ২০২৪

টেলিকম ইতিহাস

Telecom History: Bangladesh Perspective


1837: Samuel Morse invented Telegraph
1850: Electric Telegraph Line between Calcutta and Diamond Harbor by East India Company
1853: Telegraph branch under Posts and Telegraph Department, British India
1853: 4000 miles telegraph lines constructed in India
1855: Telegraph service opened to public in India
1858: India-Srilanka telegraph cable laid 
1885: Telegraph Act 
1886: Copper wire replacing iron wire
1895: Phonogram introduced in India
1902: Wireless Telegraphy started in India
1914: Postal and Telegraph departments merged in India
1933: Wireless Telegraphy Act 
1944: Introduction of Hindi script
1962: Reconstructed as Pakistan Telegraph and Telephone Department
1971: Reconstructed as Bangladesh Telegraph and Telephone Department under Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications after the liberation war 
1975: Reconstructed as Telegraph and Telephone Board
1979: Reconstructed as Bangladesh Telegraph and Telephone Board (BTTB) with right to issue license for telecom and wireless services.
1981: Digital Telex Exchange in Bangladesh
1983: Automatic Digital ITX started in Dhaka 
1985: Coinbox Telephone introduced in Bangladesh by BTTB 
1989: GENTEX Telegraph messaging service introduced in Bangladesh
1989: Bangladesh Rural Telecom Authority got license to operate exchanges in 200 upzillas
1989: Sheba Telecom got license to operate exchange is 199 upzilla
1989: Cellular mobile phone company Pacific Bangladesh Telephone Limited and Bangladesh Telecom got license 
1992: BTCL and Telephone Shilpa Sangstha launches magnetic cardphone service in the country (1400 units)
1995: Card Telephone service introduced in Bangladesh by BTTB and TSS
1995: Regulatory power of BTTB transferred to Ministry (MoPT) 
1995: 2nd and 3rd ITX installed in Dhaka
1996: Grameen Phone got cellular mobile Telephone license 
1998: Telecom Malaysia International Bangladesh got cellular mobile license 
1998: Telecom Policy by Ministry of Post and Telecommunications
1999: 1130 units of chiptype cardphone installation begins in the country 
2000: Global Telecom Service (GTS) Telex Exchange venture with British Telecom 
2001: Telecommunication Act, to establish Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission (BTRC)
2002: ICT Policy
2004: Licensing Procedure by BTRC 
2004: Teletalk cellular mobile launched 
2004: Interconnection Regulation by BTRC, Amendment: 2008
2004: BTRC (Licensing Procedure) Regulations, Amendment: 2009
2006: Telecommunication Act-2001 Amendment 
2006: NGN (Next Generation Network) introduced in BTTB
2007: International Long Distance Telecommunication Services (ILDTS) Policy by BTRC
2008: Bangladesh Telegraph & Telephone Board (BTTB) was converted into Bangladesh Telecommunications Company Limited (BTCL) on 01 July with 100 shares owned by Government and with 9 directors, headed by secretary of Ministry of Post and Telecommunications (01 July 2008)
2009: Magnetic Cardphone and Chiptype Cardphone service withdrawn
2009: BTTB ordinance-1979 Amendment (BTCL Act) 
2009: National Broadband Policy by Ministry of Post and Telecommunications


2010: ILDTS Policy
2010: SMS based Premium Rate Services guideline by BTRC
2010: Video Conferencing Guideline by BTRC
2011: Telecom Infrastructure Sharing guideline by BTRC
2012: License Fees of ISP, VSAT, Call Centre etc by BTRC
2013: BPO/Call Centre guideline by BTRC
2013: Mobile Financial Service instructions by BTRC and Bangladesh Bank
2014: (10/02/2014) Ministry of Post and Telecommunication and Ministry of Information and Communication Technology are integrated to Ministry of Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology.
(Prepared by: Mamlukar_Rahman/DDT/BTCL/11march2014)